Down Home - Now Available!

The Chronicles of Narnia Series: A Review Of A Classic Fantasy Adventure for Children and Adults


"The Chronicles of Narnia" is a series of seven fantasy novels by C.S. Lewis that follows the adventures of children who travel to the magical land of Narnia. The books explore themes of loyalty, bravery, and sacrifice, and have become beloved classics of children's literature.

About the book:

 Title The Chronicles of Narnia Series
Author C.S. Lewis
Publication Date September 15, 1952
Number of Books in Series 8
Number of Pages in Series
Recommended Age 10 years & older


Our Review

The Chronicles of Narnia is a series of seven fantasy novels for children written by C.S. Lewis. The books are set in the fictional world of Narnia, a fantasy land where animals can talk and magic is real. The series follows the adventures of a group of children who are transported to Narnia and become involved in the struggles of that world.

The first book in the series, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, introduces the four Pevensie children - Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy - who are sent to live in the countryside during World War II. While exploring an old wardrobe, the children discover a secret passage that leads to the magical land of Narnia. They soon discover that Narnia is ruled by an evil witch who has cast a spell that makes it always winter and never Christmas. With the help of Aslan, the lion who is the true ruler of Narnia, the children are able to defeat the witch and bring spring back to Narnia.

The second book, Prince Caspian, picks up where the first book left off, with the Pevensie children returning to Narnia, which has been ruled by humans in their absence. They meet Prince Caspian, who is trying to reclaim his rightful throne from his evil uncle, King Miraz. Together, the children and Caspian are able to defeat the uncle and restore Caspian to the throne.

In The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, Edmund, Lucy, and their cousin Eustace are transported to Narnia again. They join King Caspian on a journey to find seven lords who were banished by Miraz, and to discover the end of the world. Along the way, they encounter dragons, sea monsters, and other challenges, but ultimately succeed in their quest.

The final book in the series, The Last Battle, sees the return of all the main characters, including Aslan, and the end of Narnia as it is known. The story centers around the arrival of the false Aslan, Shift, and the ape, Tirian, who is the last king of Narnia. The characters must fight to save Narnia and its inhabitants from the deception and destruction. The book ends with the arrival of a new world where all the characters are reunited and able to live in peace and harmony.

The Chronicles of Narnia is a beloved fantasy series that has been enjoyed by generations of readers. The books explore themes of good vs. evil, sacrifice, and the power of love and friendship. They have been adapted into several films, stage productions, and even video games, and continue to be popular today.

Keep Reading

Looking for the next great series? Explore the Game Keepers series, a young adult series about baseball, and the Complicated Journey series, a series about space exploration and traveling to new worlds.